2022 will see Olli compete in the FIA Formula 2 Championship with Campos Racing.

The FIA Formula 2 Championship is a second-tier single seater racing championship widely renowned as the final junior racing category before Formula 1. 

The championship was introduced in 2017, following the rebranding of the long-term Formula 1 feeder series GP2. With all drivers competing using the same chassis, engine and tyre supplier, it provides the ideal proving ground for young drivers. 

Contested exclusively at Formula 1 Grand Prix’s over 13 rounds 2022 sees the championship take place across 2 Races and 1 Qualifying session, with an additional practice session prior to Qualifying.The 45 minute 120km Sprint Race takes place on the Saturday, with the longer 1h hour 170km Feature Race on the Sunday including a mandatory pitstop and larger points on offer.

Of the current Formula 1 grid, a staggering 12 out of the 20 drivers have competed in either Formula 2 or its predecessor GP2.

Campos Racing are one of the most longest standing junior formulae teams and have been at the forefront of junior single-seater racing for over 20 years. Building and supporting young drivers in their formative years, aiding them on their path to reaching the top tier of motorsport. Notable alumni include: Two-time Formula 1 World Champion Fernando Alonso, 2021 IndyCar Champion Alex Palou and Formula E Champions Lucas di Grassi and Nelson Piquet Jr.

Car Specification

Chassis: Dallara FIA homologated Carbon-Kevlar honeycomb monocoque with survival cell and halo device

Engine: V6- 3.4 litre single turbocharged Mecachrome engine, 620 HP @ 8570 rpm

Transmission: 6-speed longitudinal Hewland sequential gearbox with an electro-hydraullic paddle shift from steering wheel.

Front Suspension: Double steel wishbones, torsion bar suspension and Anti Roll Bars

Rear Suspension: Pushrod operated twin dampers, spring suspension and Anti Roll Bars

Aerodynamics: Adjustable ride height, camber and toe with the same Drag Reduction System (DRS) used in Formula 1.

Tyres: F2 specific Pirelli slick / wet tyres

Acceleration: 0-100kmh = 2.9s 0-200kmh = 6.6s

Max Lateral Acceleration: +/- 3.9 G

Max Braking Deceleration: -3.5G

Top Speed: 335 km/h

The winner of the championship will be named the FIA Formula 2 Championship, and will receive FIA Super License points.

View the full championship calendar below: